Latest News

Shropshire singers to join musical stars on the Proms and Prosecco at the Park stage (1st August 2019) Read More...

Goldstone Hall Open for National Garden Scheme (16th July 2019) Read More...

» More News

What's On

Issues with our site
01/07/2019 - 31/12/2019

We Are Going on a Troll Hunt
07/09/2019 - 25/10/2019

» More Events

Music Stars 'The Drifters' Stay at Market Drayton Holiday Home (19th January 2012)

Bosses at holiday cottages near Market Drayton came to the rescue of soul legends The Drifters by putting them up after their original accommodation fell through at the last minute. The Under The Boardwalk stars have been staying at the Old Smithy Holiday Cottages, near Goldstone, while recording new material.

The group has also been in the area practising at a secret location ahead of a concert at the Victoria Hall in Stoke-on-Trent on October 18 as part of a nationwide tour.

Accommodation owner Carmel Simpson said it was a pleasure to put up the four-piece vocal group, whose current line-up features Michael Williams, Ryan King, Carlton Powell and Pierre Herelle.

When Mrs Simpson had a phone call asking if she was able to accommodate the band, she immediately invited the unlikely guests to ‘come on over to her place’ for the week.

Mrs Simpson said: “A man called and asked if I had accommodation for the band so I said yes and managed to come to their rescue.

“They have been lovely guests and I had a kiss from each one of them yesterday morning before they left.

“Every morning they came out to the courtyard to do their exercises. They were lovely singers.”

The Drifters have sold in excess of 214 million singles and 114 million albums and are also one of the longest serving bands in history.

Since 1953, more than 65 vocalists have performed as part of the group, including icons such as Ben E King, Rudy Lewis and Johnny Moore. They were originally formed as a backing group and got their name because they drifted from one act to another.

The very first line-up for the band, which was then known as Clyde McPhatter and The Drifters, featured Clyde McPhatter, David Baughan, William Anderson, David Baldwin and James Johnson.